‘Everyone I know is some sort of Politician’


Quiet Company - Everyone You Love Will Be Happy Soon

Quiet Company - Everyone You Love Will Be Happy Soon

Artist: Quiet Company

Album: Everyone You Love Will Be Happy Soon

Released: March 10, 2009

Label: Self – Released

Rating:  7.8/10

I’ve wanted to review this album for a while. It’s one of the best I’ve heard in quite sometime. But, every time I’ve sat to write about it I’ve been at a loss for words. How do I describe this album? Do I describe it by the use of the piano introduction, by the chorus? By the seemingly perfect shift of a soft-sung open to the upbeat chorus? Do I describe the lyrics, which aren’t necessarily the best, but also not the worst?

While the lyrics are fairly easy to decipher, the arrangement and composition make this hardly an item for the list of deltas. But, even with these simple lyrics, it is nice to be reminded to “stop and smell the roses” every once in a while. I’ve never been told to do such a thing in such a pleasing way.

I’m a fan of Modest Mouse’s album titles. They’re always rather interesting and… I’m at a loss for words. But, titles such as Sad Sappy Sucker, Building Nothing Out of Something, and, even their newest, We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank. Quiet Company’s album title, Everyone You Love Will Be Happy Soon, is in that same vein. It’s pretty obvious and could go without saying, but I will. It seems to state that we’re not happy or content with our lives, and even if you think you are, there is someone you know who isn’t. We just have to help our friends, our family, our loved ones. We have to see them through their rough patches, through their anguish, even their teen angst.

Every time I hear the track “Seal My Fate,” I’m reminded of The Beatles’ “Here Comes the Sun.” If only by the chorus: “so come on / come on / the sun is up now….” Of course, it’s more like the sequel or continuation of “Here Comes the Sun” as the sun is “up now.” I also like that someone else has now put into lyrical form thoughts I’ve been having, in that “everyone I know / is some sort of politician.” Everyone has their own point of view and is generally looking out for their own, keeping us all from being “happy soon”.

It’s still hard to talk about this album without talking about it line by line. Sometimes, I think, or at least I do now, that an album can be liked without needing extremely difficult to decipher metaphors or a saturation of different instruments that are all composed eloquently. Sometimes you just need a couple of guitars, a piano, a set of drums, and a great vocalist. Every track doesn’t need soft and loud counterparts. It’s okay, and sometimes preferable, to have a track completely devoted to soft instruments and vocals as in “Red & Gold.”

The album isn’t directly religious until the track, “My New Year’s Resolution Is To Cope With My Mortality.” We’re faced with our forthcoming demise and meeting our religious judgment of choice. We accept that we’ve done things wrong, but we have “at least a hundred reason why / I should go to Heaven….” And at some point we all feel that after living life here on Earth with all of our pain that we “need the rest.”

There’s nothing wrong with the album being religious, many artists reference biblical stories and do it wonderfully.  Headphones, Pedro the Lion – I understand that these could be considered the same band by some. Even Matt Costa references the book East of Eden, which is, basically, the story of the garden. If you are turned off by the thought of listening to something with religious undertones, don’t worry. It’s fairly easy t get by without it observing. Of course, the great biblical flood and the washing of one’s sins is referenced in “How To Fake Like You Are Nice & Caring.” But it too has other meanings. As well, as a couple of the last songs of the album.

There are few times in my life when I’ve felt that my friends were acting as a “brother to me,” but it’s something we have all experienced, even if we don’t recall a time. We tend to act as if we “know everything,” but we all know those steep mountains that Quiet Company references. Those times when we feel down and out, like we’ll never make it through. Then a friend sits with us, talks with us, grabs us by the arm or throws us over their shoulder, and we make our way up the mountain together.

I may kick myself for giving this album a score of 7.8 out of 10. I’m not sure if it should be high or lower. I think it should be lower and I’m inclined to be harsher, but can’t seem to bring myself to be. But, “I don’t really see the problem with it.”

Leave a Reply

