PANIC! At The End Of Indie


I completely agree with this review of Panic! At the Disco. As I told Ben, earlier today, the band members must have had nothing better to do than make dance music that really sucked. It’s all mainstream-ready. And, I don’t hate the band nearly as much as I hate Fall Out Boy (and I really hate Fall Out Boy, I can’t listen to them), so that’s something. And, they do have a few good lyrics, but, as the review says, “The whining, the emotionally exposed lyrics, and the passionate choruses are there, but there’s no sincerity, creativity, or originality.”

So, I like it, but I hate it. It’s sad, as the reviewer pointed out, that this is what emo/indie music is coming to. But, I called it. A couple years ago. I knew the pop/rock and emo/indie scene would collide.

Ben helped me to describe this band. I think the album is all about the beats and the rhythm. Not so much for creativity. Ben also pointed out that the vocals sounded an awful lot like that of Fall Out Boy. But, it is not the same person. However, one of the members of Fall Out Boy did sign this band to their label and help produce the album, A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out. We also looked at the album art, displaying a picture of the group members and one of them looked like a guy from My Chemical Romance, Ben pointed out.

Panic! At the Disco’s (P!ATD) lyrics are well written and don’t take much to grasp the meaning of each song. It was a rather perfect time for me to read the lyrics to the last half of the album, as I find myself somewhat in a connecting situation.

It’s really a good album to listen to and feel happy about. I love the way the band slams the “wanna-be scene-sters” with “I Constantly Thank God for Esteban”. It’s really good music to drive fast to and jam to with friends. And, it’s also fun to make fun of.

I hope the band matures. I’d like to see what they could do when they aren’t trying to bridge the gap between pop-rock and indie-rock.

Artist: Panic! At The Disco
Album: A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out
Released: September 27, 2005
Label: Fueled by Ramen / Decaydance
Rating: 1.8/ 10

Leave a Reply

